3 Colours Red Tour – 1999

February 27th 1999 – Rock City, Nottingham

Rock City. “Midlands Home of Rock”. Based on the gigs I’m writing up at present and the tickets I found, this appears to be one of my first visits to Rock City…..I’m missing tickets for most of 1997 and 1998 and I feel sure I would have done some Nottingham gigs in the mid to late 90s.

I reckon I’m missing tickets for Fun Loving Criminals, Echo and the Bunnymen, Faith No More, The Damned and a few others, which is disappointing and I’ll need need to investigate dates on those……

The first I remember hearing by 3 Colours Red, were “Paralyse”, “Intermission” and “Beautiful Day”. The first two songs were good strong rock tracks, almost thrashy, but still with what I call a melodic edge. The latter was a ballad and probably their biggest hit.

I really enjoyed the Revolt album and went back to buy their first album too (Pure) and really thought they were going to be big. I don’t recall a great deal of this gig but would have been very enjoyable.

The band would split up after playing Reading in 1999 (musical differences), which was a shame after a successful career start. A short lived period, but two great albums.

Set List (something like)

  • Song on the Radio
  • Mental Blocks
  • Paranoid People
  • Cancel the Exhibition
  • Sixty Mile Smile
  • Intermission
  • Pirouette
  • Beautiful Day
  • Nerve Gas
  • Copper Girl
  • This Is My Time
  • Pure
  • Nuclear Holiday
  • Encore:
  • Paralyse
  • This Is My Hollywood
  • Hateslick

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started