Half Man Half Biscuit Tour – 2000

May 11th 2000 – Princess Charlotte

It’s gigs like this that remind me that writing all my gigs up was a daft idea and only came about because of this crazy Covid-19 lockdown! But I’ve started, so I should at least try to finish!

It has also shown how much fantastic material floats about in the ether known as the internet. Much as I enjoy Half Man Half Biscuit, I have no idea what any of their set lists would have been for attended gigs (or off the top of my head, any other band for that matter) and Setlist fm has let me down on this occasion. The set list here, will be a best guess, but I came across a ludicrously impressive spreadsheet (and I love a spreadsheet) on HMHB set lists from November 2001 onwards, which will inform later gigs I went to. So massive thank you to the site owner, Chris Rand for the information found on Chris’ Half Man Half Biscuit site.

Half Man Half Biscuit are an indie rock band, from Birkenhead, Merseyside. They’ve been around since 1984. Best known for tongue in cheek songs, the band at the time were, lead singer and guitarist Nigel Blackwell, bassist and singer Neil Crossley, drummer Carl Henry, and guitarist Ken Hancock.

So, this will be a short post as a lack of memory is rife. What you get with HMHB (apart from quite a nice abbreviation) is singalongs, great music, funny lyrics (check some of them out) and probably the best song titles ever invented……..most famously (to me), “All I Want For Christmas Is A Dukla Prague Away Shirt”.

It was always fun and a HMHB concert…

Set List

Possibly, but an educated guess – in alphabetical order

  • Bottleneck At Capel Curig
  • Everything’s AOR
  • Four Skinny Indie Kids
  • Fuckin’ ‘Ell It’s Fred Titmus
  • Irk The Purists
  • Look Dad No Tunes
  • Monmore, Hare’s Running
  • Outbreak Of Vitas Gerulaitis
  • Secret Gig
  • The Best Things In Life
  • The Trumpton Riots
  • Twenty Four Hour Garage People
  • Vatican Broadside
  • Venus In Flares

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started